Organize Your Paints!

Here’s a fun crafty project I did this morning that I wanted to share with you! I’m incredibly visual (duh, I’m an artist), so I wanted to create something that had both beauty and function. I have to have a neat space with (sometimes chaotic) organization of my art supplies, and I like to see absolutely everything at the tip of my fingers. I like to see exactly all the colored pencils I have in front of me, all of my chalk pastels and the color options, and as shown below, I like to see all of my paints. When I artfully display/organize my supplies in places where I can fully see my options, I tend to get more creative!

Processed with VSCO with 7 preset

Materials:

  • Large wooden slab, board, or if you want to get creative, try driftwood or a cool piece of wood you found while you were out hiking! Anything that can take a nail hammered into it.
  • A small hammer
  • Nails (as many as you need)
  • Clips for the tubes of paint that don’t have holes in them (ex: Liquitex vs. Golden)
  • Sharpie
  • Ruler (if you’re OCD like I am)
Processed with VSCO with 7 preset
Step 1: Lay out all of your paints flat on the board, and mark with a sharpie where you want to drive your nails in! Use a ruler to get exact measurements if you want everything to be even.
Processed with VSCO with 7 preset
Hammer your nails on the sharpie marks that you made, and hang your paint!
Processed with VSCO with 7 preset
For the tubes of paint that don’t have holes at the top, simply use a binder clip, clip the top and hang it off the nail. 

If you’re feeling extra fancy while hanging your tubes of paint, color code them! Not only will it be a great organization tool for your acrylic/oil paints, but it will look like a beautiful piece of art (especially if you want it on the wall!).

If you do this, be sure to post a photo on Instagram and tag me in it so I can see it (@roya_so_artsy)!

Happy crafting and stay artsy! XO

Leave a Reply

